MatPlus.Net

 Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

0:32 UTC
ISC 2020
 
  Forum*
 
 
 
 

Username:

Password:

Remember me

 
Forgot your
password?
Click here!
SIGN IN
to create your account if you don't already have one.
CHESS
SOLVING

Tournaments
Rating lists
1-Jul-2020

B P C F





 
 
MatPlus.Net Forum General Record for the longest helpmate, in an illegal position?
 
You can only view this page!
Page: [Previous] [Next] 1 2 3 4
(61) Posted by Andrew Buchanan [Sunday, May 10, 2020 10:21]; edited by Andrew Buchanan [20-05-10]

Not looked into these in detail, but you can add an extra half move to most of these positions by simply declaring that it's Wh to move.

Yes it's an illegal check, but by FIDE Laws (Art 1.4.1 last time I looked) a player is is *not* allowed to capture the opponent's king, so has nothing better to do than just make a random bishop move. This kind of position is *only* illegal: there is no other objection to it. There is certainly no problem at all in playing forward from such a position.

This FIDE Article is a curious one, as it explicitly covers a situation that cannot happen in a legal game. But capturing opponent's king wouldn't be very constructive, as it would make it impossible to win: can no longer checkmate!

You're welcome :)
 
   
(Read Only)pid=19028
(62) Posted by Geir Sune Tallaksen Østmoe [Sunday, May 10, 2020 15:17]

It used to be allowed to capture the opponent's king in blitz, though. When I started playing 24 years ago, it was a common way to claim a win. I even lost a blitz game once by capturing my opponent's king, because I had forgot about the rule change.
 
 
(Read Only)pid=19036

No more posts
Page: [Previous] [Next] 1 2 3 4

MatPlus.Net Forum General Record for the longest helpmate, in an illegal position?