MatPlus.Net

 Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

23:43 UTC
 
  Forum*
 
 
 
 

Username:

Password:

Remember me

 
Forgot your
password?
Click here!
SIGN IN
to create your account if you don't already have one.
CHESS
SOLVING

Tournaments
Rating lists
1-Oct-2019

B P C F





 
 
MatPlus.Net Forum Liga Problemista 2007 3rd Round (h#2 anticirce), judge: Eric Huber (Romania)
 
You can only view this page!
(1) Posted by Administrator [Wednesday, May 9, 2007 03:02]

3rd Round (h#2 anticirce), judge: Eric Huber (Romania)


Announcement

Theme: Anticirce h#2 with specific batteries.

 
example by
Vlaicu Crisan
(= 5+5 )

h#2* AntiCirce
The front piece of the battery stands on the rebirth square of the rear piece of the battery and plays afterwards.
    In example:
  • set play: 1... Qg1+ (wQ leaves wR rebirth square) 2.Kc5 Qg8# (wQ leaves wS rebirth square);
  • actual play: 1.b3 Rf1+ (wR leaves wQ rebirth square) 2.Kc4 Rf4# (wR leaves wB rebirth square).

The battery may already exist in the initial position, or it can be created during the play.
Twins, set play and multiple solutions are allowed, but not zero position. Fairy pieces are not allowed.

Judge: Eric Huber (Romania)

Closing date: August 1st, 2007

Send problems to:
Milan Velimirović, Milentija Popovića 35/6, 11070 Novi Beograd, Serbia

or by e-mail to: mivel@sezampro.com (with subject LP 3/2007)

or online: fill the input form Originals..LP3 on this site - ensure that correct section (LP2007, Round 3) is selected!

If you have any question regarding the theme, please post it in this thread!

Announcement in Serbian language / Raspis na srpskom jeziku:
http://www.matplus.org.yu/DPJ/lp07_3a.pdf (100 KB)
 
(Read Only)pid=714
(2) Posted by Harry Fougiaxis [Wednesday, May 9, 2007 10:32]; edited by Harry Fougiaxis [07-05-09]

A slight correction : in the move Rd1-f1+, the wR leaves the wQ's rebirth square.

Edit : And a clarification please. Why is the word "and plays afterwards" necessary? This phrase (and considering the particular example) may give the false impression that the front piece should first play to the rebirth square and then leave, although it is clear from the rest of the text that the front piece can be already on the rebirth square in the initial diagram.

In other words: wpe5, wSd2, bKd6 with S~+/# is perfectly legitimate, isn't it?
 
 
(Read Only)pid=715
(3) Posted by Administrator [Wednesday, May 9, 2007 11:11]

 QUOTE 
Harry: in the move Rd1-f1+, the wR leaves the wQ's rebirth square

Thanks Harry for careful reading! This was a typing error - corrected in original post.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=716
(4) Posted by Eric Huber [Friday, May 11, 2007 02:38]

Harry's scheme wpe5, wSd2, bKd6 with S~+/# is thematical: wS stands on wP's rebirth field and then wS moves, firing the battery.
The words "and plays afterwards" force battery play during solution. Without this precision, some might compose problems where the front piece of a battery stands on the rebirth field of the other piece... and doesn't move!
As the announcement says, "The battery may already exist in the initial position, or it can be created during the play." The problem by Vlaicu Crisan shows the two thematical possibilities in each phase.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=732
(5) Posted by Harry Fougiaxis [Friday, May 11, 2007 08:44]

I can see the point, but imho, by definition, if the piece does not move at all, the setup cannot be considered a battery anyway.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=735
(6) Posted by Juraj Lörinc [Friday, Jul 13, 2007 00:13]

Why is there missing source of Vlaicu's example?

Vlaicu Crisan, 3rd HM The Problemist 1996
 
   
(Read Only)pid=1101
(7) Posted by Juraj Lörinc [Friday, Jul 13, 2007 00:15]

Also, there were some interesting thematic examples in the Liga Problemista 2004, including half of the 1st place by Vladimir Podinic.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=1102
(8) Posted by Uri Avner [Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 04:58]; edited by Uri Avner [07-07-31]

a) Is it possible to interpret the words "and plays afterwards" as referring to a thematic try and not necessarily to the actual solution?
b) May the battery be an indirect one (e.g. masked by another piece, directed at a square near the king etc.)?
 
   
(Read Only)pid=1202
(9) Posted by Eric Huber [Wednesday, Aug 1, 2007 05:14]

Sorry for answering only now, I didn't expect a new question at that stage of the tourney.
a) Interpretations are of course always possible. However, in a thematical tourney I tend to favour the problems that realise the theme in the most intense way. Therefore, in that sense it would be a pity if only the thematic try realised the theme, and not the actual solution. It also depends on the quality of the try (or tries) in relation with the actual solution(s).
b) Batteries may be direct or indirect. Freedom of choice :-)
 
 
(Read Only)pid=1209
(10) Posted by Vlaicu Crisan [Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 17:16]

My fault, Juraj: when sending to Eric the problem I forgot to mention the full source.
Thanks for spotting!
 
 
(Read Only)pid=1251

No more posts


MatPlus.Net Forum Liga Problemista 2007 3rd Round (h#2 anticirce), judge: Eric Huber (Romania)