MatPlus.Net

 Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

13:05 UTC
 
  Forum*
 
 
 
 

Username:

Password:

Remember me

 
Forgot your
password?
Click here!
SIGN IN
to create your account if you don't already have one.
CHESS
SOLVING

Tournaments
Rating lists
01-Oct-2019

B P C F





 
 
MatPlus.Net Forum Promenade Major gamebreaking oversight - winning any game in the first move if the opponent is late (and still get a 0:1 result)
 
You can only view this page!
(1) Posted by Siegfried Hornecker [Saturday, Sep 17, 2016 10:27]; edited by Siegfried Hornecker [16-09-17]

Major gamebreaking oversight - winning any game in the first move if the opponent is late (and still get a 0:1 result)


 QUOTE 
5.1

a. The game is won by the player who has checkmated his opponent’s king. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the checkmate position was in accordance with Article 3 and Articles 4.2 – 4.7.
 QUOTE 
7.2

a. If during agame it is found that the initial position of the pieces was incorrect, the game shall be cancelled and a new game shall be played.
If during a game it is found that the chessboard has been placed contrary to Article 2.1, the game shall continue but the position reached must be transferred to a correctly placed chessboard.


So the simple way to win is to set up any position where you can checkmate in one move as the starting position and make that move. This ends the game, so the starting position can not be corrected anymore or the game cancelled since the game is already over (note how it says "during"). Since the opponent is late, he also won't have checked the setup of the pieces, so you have been able to set it up the way you want. If you would have Black usually, just assign White to yourself, as...

 QUOTE 

7.3

If a game has begun with colours reversed then it shall continue, unless the arbiter rules otherwise.


...this obviously also only applies when a game has not ended yet.

Articles 3 and 4 regard the movement of pieces, but nothing prevents you from starting from a wrongly set up board and make a legal move that immediately checkmates. This is a major oversight that I did not see in action yet, but it is a theoratical possibility to cheat in accordance with the rules.


Of course, you have one small issue...

 QUOTE 
11.1

The players shall take no action that will bring the game of chess into disrepute.


So the arbiter can...

 QUOTE 
11.6

Infraction of any part of Articles 11.1 – 11.5 shall lead to penalties in accordance with Article 12.9.


 QUOTE 

12.9

Options available to the arbiter concerning penalties:

warning
increasing the remaining time of the opponent
reducing the remaining time of the offending player
increasing the points scored in the game by the opponent to the maximum available for that game
reducing the points scored in the game by the offending person
declaring the game to be lost by the offending player (the arbiter shall also decide the opponent’s score)
a fine announced in advance
expulsion from the competition.


...increase your opponent's score to 1 and yours to 0. But you still won, even though the result shows the opposite! And that counts. Or not?
 
(Read Only)pid=15007
(2) Posted by Andrew Buchanan [Tuesday, Sep 20, 2016 01:54]; edited by Andrew Buchanan [16-09-20]

Hi Siegfried,

I didn't reply too quickly because I fear I accumulate already a reputation as a rules-lawyer. However no one else has responded to your very amusing post, so I thought I would say something.

The main problem that you might encounter in implementing your plan is the Preface of the Laws, which says that the rules have lots of holes in them and the arbiters have great latitude in their interpretation. This Preface engenders unnecessary laxity in writing the basic rules (Articles 1-5), which could be expressed more mathematically. Certainly such a Preface is necessary for the Competition Rules (Articles 6 and onwards).

I also wonder how you will establish that your mating move was legal. To do that, someone must see the position before the mating move was made, and at that point can spot the irregularity. 7.2a (If during a game it is found that the initial position of the pieces was incorrect, the game shall be cancelled and a new game shall be played) triggers because perforce the mating move has not been played yet.

Finally, there are substantial changes in the handling of illegal moves, in the Draft of FIDE Laws of Chess from 1 July 2017, to be discussed at the FIDE Congress in Baku. Whether 10 moves are known to have passed since the infraction will determine the response.

All the best,
Andrew
 
 
(Read Only)pid=15008
(3) Posted by Bojan Basic [Saturday, Oct 1, 2016 22:46]

I don't think that this possibility exists. Namely, look again:

 QUOTE 
5.1

a. The game is won by the player who has checkmated his opponent’s king. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the checkmate position was in accordance with Article 3 and Articles 4.2 – 4.7.


And we also have:

 QUOTE 
4.3

Except as provided in Article 4.2, if the player having the move touches on the chessboard, with the intention of moving or capturing:

a. one or more of his own pieces, he must move the first piece touched that can be moved
b. one or more of his opponent’s pieces, he must capture the first piece touched that can be captured
c. one piece of each colour, he must capture the opponent’s piece with his piece or, if this is illegal, move or capture the first piece touched that can be moved or captured. If it is unclear whether the player’s own piece or his opponent’s was touched first, the player’s own piece shall be considered to have been touched before his opponent’s.


I don't see how you could "set up any position where you can checkmate" without touching any piece. And then your later checkmating move becomes illegal from the perspective of 4.3, and therefore the game is not immediately ended by 5.1a. :)
 
   
(Read Only)pid=15028
(4) Posted by Siegfried Hornecker [Sunday, Oct 2, 2016 05:36]

When I set up the starting position of the game, I don't have the intention of moving or capturing. Then that position allows me to checkmate in the first move...

Compare my Beamtenschach proofgame in 0 moves that I created in Belgrade (but didn't publish until now):

(= 16+16 )

SH, original
Beamtenschach
Proofgame in 0 moves

Solution: White is stalemated.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=15029
(5) Posted by Bojan Basic [Sunday, Oct 2, 2016 14:44]

 QUOTE 
When I set up the starting position of the game, I don't have the intention of moving or capturing.

But it is at the arbiter's discretion to decide what your intentions were — and especially if the initial position had already been set up by the organizers (but also if not), you would have a pretty tough case arguing that you were only setting up the initial position. :)
 
 
(Read Only)pid=15031

No more posts


MatPlus.Net Forum Promenade Major gamebreaking oversight - winning any game in the first move if the opponent is late (and still get a 0:1 result)