Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

10:50 UTC
ISC 2020



Remember me

Forgot your
Click here!
to create your account if you don't already have one.

Rating lists


MatPlus.Net Forum Promenade Rally Chess
You can only view this page!
(1) Posted by Siegfried Hornecker [Friday, Jan 18, 2019 13:13]

Rally Chess

Dear all, I have a new fairy chess idea called Rally Chess.

Instead of making another move, a king can "rally". When he rallies, any pieces in a direct orthogonal or diagonal line who have only empty squares between themselves and the king move one step closer to the king. A king can not put himself into check by rallying.

Example: (= 2+4 )

h#2 (Helpmate in two moves)
Rally Chess

1.Sg8 Kf3 (Kf5?) 2.Rally (Qh6-h7, Bf6-g7) Rally (Sf8-f7) mate.
Try: 1. Rally (Sf8-g8, Qh6-h7, Bf6-g7) Sh6 2.Sg8 Sf7 mate, but after 1. Rally the white king is in check.
(Read Only)pid=17003
(2) Posted by Siegfried Hornecker [Thursday, Jan 24, 2019 08:10]

Because of the high interest with zero replies, here is another clarification, showing that rallied rooks can't be used for castling.

(= 5+6 )

SH, original
h#2 Duplex

1. Rally (Ke1-e2, Ra8-b8) Ra1 2.Ra8 (0-0-0???) R:a8 mate
1. 0-0 Ra1 2.Kh1 R:f1 mate
(Read Only)pid=17009
(3) Posted by Geir Sune Tallaksen Østmoe [Saturday, Jan 26, 2019 00:14]; edited by Geir Sune Tallaksen Østmoe [19-01-26]

Interesting idea! I assume you can also rally the opponent's king into a check or a mate?

(= 3+3 )

Rally Chess

1.Rally (Ke1-e2, Bb7-c7, Bh7-g7, Bh4-g5) Bh4 2.Rally (Ke2-e3, Bc7-d7, Bg7-f7, Bg5-f6) Ba4 3.Rally (Ke3-e4) Rally (Ke7-e6, Ba4-b4, Bh4-g4) mate.
(Read Only)pid=17010
(4) Posted by Siegfried Hornecker [Saturday, Jan 26, 2019 16:11]; edited by Siegfried Hornecker [19-01-29]

Yes, of course. Thanks for your problem, which I'll have to study later.

Two more rule clarifications for fairy chess:

- In chess variants without a royal piece (such as losing chess) the king still is the one to rally.

- If another piece than the king is the royal piece, the composer may decides if the king, or the royal piece, can rally. If no king is on the board in that case in the initial position, it shall be assumed that the royal piece can rally. Otherwise the composer must specify that the (not yet on the board) king can rally.

EDIT, January 29: I looked at the problem last night. Very well done!

I wanted to give the historical background. So in the medieval ages, or earlier, it was common for kings or lords or whatever to either "call to arms", i.e. building a militia from everyone who is there, or to give announcements to which people would appear to see them (usually somewhere on black boards in the city, I think, i.e. not in person?). So this doesn't actually represent medieval practices.
Instead the "rally" mechanic is supposed to resemble the king doing something like a modern politician or whomever giving a speech and drawing people towards him - of course, only those who see him, thus the "line of sight" mechanic where only empty squares can be between him and the pieces. The other thing is that I wouldn't know how to do it for other positions, i.e. not on a direct orthogonal or diagonal line - for example a knight move away. So I decided to avoid such questions and just limit it that way to make it easier to understand and utilize.

As Geir showed, there is potential in the use of this mechanic. So please send your problems with this mechanic to fairy sections of your choice (such as The Problemist - see the other recent thread on MatPlus - or the Schwalbe, or wherever else you want). I would appreciate, however, if you can send me a copy of your problems after publication - or reproduce them here (of course, after the solution appeared in the magazine).
(Read Only)pid=17011

No more posts

MatPlus.Net Forum Promenade Rally Chess