MatPlus.Net

 Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

7:53 CET
 
  Forum*
 
 
 
 

Username:

Password:

Remember me

 
Forgot your
password?
Click here!
SIGN IN
to create your account if you don't already have one.
CHESS
SOLVING

Rating lists
01-Jul-2019

B P C F





 
 
MatPlus.Net Forum Liga Problemista 2008 2nd Round (s#2) - Judge: Frank Richter (Germany)
 
You can only view this page!
(1) Posted by Administrator [Saturday, Feb 2, 2008 01:40]

2nd Round (s#2) - Judge: Frank Richter (Germany)


Theme: In a selfmate twomover (s#2) a white direct selfmate attempt fails because the target square is additionally guarded by white. In the key white moves one of the guarding pieces away directly.

Example:
N. A. Macleod
Schach-Echo 1976
(= 10+14 )
s#2


1.Se5+? fxe5+ 2.Bxe5!!

1.Bg1! ~ 2.Se5+ fxe5#
1... Rd1+ 2.Sd2+ gxf3#
1... a1=Q+ 2.Sc3+ gxf3#
1... fxg1=Q+ 2.Sf2+ gxf3#
1... Qxb6+ 2.Sc5+ gxf3#
1... Qxb8 2.Sxf6+ gxf3#
1... Qd7+ 2.Sed6+ gxf3#
1... Qxf7 2.Qd5+ Qxd5#


Judge: Frank Richter, Germany

Closing date: May 1st, 2008

Send problems to:
Milan Velimirovic, Milentija Popovica 35/6, 11070 Novi Beograd, Serbia

or by e-mail to: mivel@sezampro.com (with subject LP 2/2008)

or online: fill the input form Originals..LP 2008-1 on this site - ensure that correct section (LP2008, Round 2) is selected!

If you have any question regarding the theme, please post it in this thread!

 QUOTE 
In Serbian language:
Тема: У двопотезном самомату (s#2) покушај директног самомата не иде јер је циљно поље додатно брањено од стране белог. У првом потезу бели склања једну од фигура које директно бране то поље.

 
(Read Only)pid=1942
(2) Posted by Juraj Lörinc [Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 10:25]

One question: what is precisely meant by "a white direct selfmate attempt"? Is it "direct selfmate" or "direct attempt"?

I am asking because I can imagine two rather different things:
- direct selfmate as selfmate by direct mating move, not battery move,
- direct attempt as try to get s#1, but as that fails, it should be prepared by key and may appear as the 2nd move in threat or in variation.
 
 
(Read Only)pid=2183
(3) Posted by Frank Richter [Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 11:02]

Precisely meant was your first offer:
"a direct selfmate as selfmate by direct mating move, not battery move"
 
   
(Read Only)pid=2184
(4) Posted by Uri Avner [Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 22:05]

The situation before Juraj Lörinc asked his question was for me much better than the post question (and answer) situation.

From the theme definition it is perfectly clear that the square white wants to force black to arrive at (i.e. the "target square") must initially be guarded twice. In the case of a black direct battery there is only one situation where this condition matters and this is the case of a royal battery. Surely Frank did not mean to exclude this interesting possibility which is in perfect tune with the spirit of the theme. By "direct selfmate attempt" I understand "immediate selfmate attempt".

So, Frank, do you allow the special case of a royal black battery in the threat where the target square of the black king is initially guarded by two white pieces?
 
   
(Read Only)pid=2205
(5) Posted by Juraj Lörinc [Monday, Apr 21, 2008 01:54]

The black royal battery was one of possible theme renderings that I have been considering and precisely the reason why I have asked.
(In Slovakia we have a proverb, something like: "Don't ask as you may get answer you don't like." :-) Unfortunately, I have asked...)
 
   
(Read Only)pid=2208
(6) Posted by Frank Richter [Monday, Apr 21, 2008 07:46]

Dear selfmate-friends,

I will not exclude creative and interesting interpretations of the given theme.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=2209
(7) Posted by Uri Avner [Monday, Apr 21, 2008 12:15]

Thanks, Frank! I'm feeling relieved already.
 
 
(Read Only)pid=2210

No more posts


MatPlus.Net Forum Liga Problemista 2008 2nd Round (s#2) - Judge: Frank Richter (Germany)