MatPlus.Net

 Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

9:45 CET
 
  Forum*
 
 
 
 

Username:

Password:

Remember me

 
Forgot your
password?
Click here!
SIGN IN
to create your account if you don't already have one.
CHESS
SOLVING

Rating lists
01-Jul-2019

B P C F





 
 
MatPlus.Net Forum General Generic "Helpmate at all" stipulation
 
You can only view this page!
(1) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Saturday, Jan 6, 2007 21:27]

Generic "Helpmate at all" stipulation


As an on-board player and referee I sometimes (actually, today)
encounter situations like this. White just managed to exchange
queens on b5 (Kb2 Pb5/Kb6 Bd5 or suchlike) but his flag fell.
The FIDE quickplay rules unequivocally say that White loses
on time since he can play on self-mate (yes, I know, help-mate
is the correct term, but all on-board players call it a
self-mate in conversion, even I who knows :-) by promoting
to a knight and further braindead moves. (The rule is idiotic
but sensible - "winning chances" can't be defined properly.
The poor geezer should have thrown a "10-2" beforehand.)

Thus: In case of fallen flag the game is lost *exactly* when
a help-mate can be constructed. Is there any interesting
problem with the stipulation "Is a help-mate possible at all?"

Hauke
 
(Read Only)pid=362
(2) Posted by Siegfried Hornecker [Tuesday, Apr 3, 2007 01:36]

I think retros or such may fall into that category but it won't be what you look for...

Andrew Buchanan: DEAD RECKONING: CASTLING & EN PASSANT
Maybe this is helpful to you but I guess it ain't what you look for. B is a position where this question could arise.
 
(Read Only)pid=580

No more posts


MatPlus.Net Forum General Generic "Helpmate at all" stipulation