MatPlus.Net

 Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

11:40 CET
 
  Forum*
 
 
 
 

Username:

Password:

Remember me

 
Forgot your
password?
Click here!
SIGN IN
to create your account if you don't already have one.
CHESS
SOLVING

Rating lists
01-Jul-2019

B P C F





 
 
MatPlus.Net Forum Fairies April 1st composition
 
You can only view this page!
Page: [Previous] [Next] 1 2
(1) Posted by Alex Levit [Sunday, Apr 1, 2012 21:25]; edited by Alex Levit [12-04-01]

April 1st composition


(= 2+7 )
ser.h=8 Take&make chess,Joke problem
Solution:
===================================================
1.c1B 2.a1R 3.Ra6
4.Be3 5.Bg1 6.h1Q
7.Qh3 8.Bb6 gxh3[c8N]=
In normal Take&make chess this is checkmate.
But suppose that white must move after king taking.
Now black is stalemated.

=====================================================
 
(Read Only)pid=8206
(2) Posted by Alex Levit [Monday, Apr 2, 2012 14:39]

Same idea without any joke:
(= 8+10 )
ser.h=12 Take&make chess, Isardam
1.gxf1-e1S 2.Sg2 3.Sxh4-f6 4.e1B 5.c1Q 6.Qxc5-b7
7.axb1-c1R 8.Rc8 9.Bg3 10.Bgc7 11.d6 12.Sd7 a7=
(= 4+10 )
Black is not in check now by Isardam rules, but knight or queen moves is selfcheck.
 
 
(Read Only)pid=8209
(3) Posted by Juraj Lörinc [Monday, Apr 2, 2012 15:03]; edited by Juraj Lörinc [12-04-02]

What about 1.gxf1S-f5 2.Sxh5-f6?

Edit: Oh well, the post just below explains why not. All right.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8210
(4) Posted by Alex Levit [Monday, Apr 2, 2012 15:22]

I think that move 1.gxf1S-f5 is illegal in Take&make:A pawn is promoted if and only if the final square of its move is on the 8th rank The rhight move is 1.gxf1-Pf5. Am I wrong?
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8211
(5) Posted by Dmitri Turevski [Monday, Apr 2, 2012 16:15]

Why exactly is the black king not in check in the final position? The pawn threats to capture the king a7xb8-a7(WhitePawn) and there's no Madrasi paralysis to make this move illegal. It looks like a checkmate and Popeye agrees on that.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8212
(6) Posted by Alex Levit [Monday, Apr 2, 2012 17:04]

Very interesting! This is Take&make rules from internet:Capture of the king is orthodox (i.e. there's no need to make the second part of the move).So if after king capture white mustn't do the second part of move then this problem is correct. If white must do the second part of move than my April 1st problem is correct (without joke condition). But may be white can do the second part of move if they want it? Than both problems are incorrect. And what Popeye think about first problem? In my point of view capture of the king is orthodox means that we should use only Isardam rules here.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8213
(7) Posted by Dmitri Turevski [Monday, Apr 2, 2012 17:21]

Consider wKf7 wBg7 wRh1 bKh8 bRh7
This is still an orthodox checkmate although white bishop is pinned and can't capture. The key part is that it threats. King capture is illegal and virtual and there is no need to do legality checks after.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8214
(8) Posted by Alex Levit [Monday, Apr 2, 2012 19:24]

I am disagree here. Consider final position of second composition without take&make condition.
This is not a check thanks for Isardam rules (madrasi paralysis after pawn promotion).
So main question lies in take&make rules.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8217
(9) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Tuesday, Apr 3, 2012 12:14]

Dr. Begley into the OP! Dr. Begley into the OP!
We have a rule emergency! :-)
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8219
(10) Posted by Alex Levit [Wednesday, Apr 4, 2012 09:14]

I think there is a bug in Popeye 4.59 here:

(= 2+4 )
a)Take&make b)Take&make, Isardam

In a) this is checkmate but in b) this is stalemate!
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8221
(11) Posted by Siegfried Hornecker [Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012 07:27]; edited by Siegfried Hornecker [12-04-10]

(= 2+5 )

SH, original
Helpmate in 2.5 moves

Mark the invisible text below to see the solution.
1.- Kd2 2.c1S Kc2 3.Sa2 Bxb2 mate. The board must be flipped by 180 degrees since the diagrammed position would be illegal. That it is 180 degrees is shown by the color of the fields.

As a reminder, to create such text you type in [ w ] and [ / w ] without the empty spaces.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8248
(12) Posted by Nikola Predrag [Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012 13:08]

Nice simplicity, try to get more out of it. For example http://www.nikola-predrag.from.hr/problemonline_2004-2008/en_Z0002.htm
 
 
(Read Only)pid=8249
(13) Posted by seetharaman kalyan [Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012 15:19]

Why is the diagram position illegal? Another April 1 joke ?
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8250
(14) Posted by Vlaicu Crisan [Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012 15:50]

wK can not pass over the four black pawns on 7th rank.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8251
(15) Posted by Nikola Predrag [Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012 16:48]

That's the point of such jokes, to alter slightly the rules and coventions which have been obviously neglected.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8253
(16) Posted by Alex Levit [Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012 18:20]

(= 3+1 )
Add one piece and #1, Joke problem
Solution:
================================
Add wB to a1.
Board is rotated now, so 1.g8Q#

================================
 
 
(Read Only)pid=8255
(17) Posted by Nikola Predrag [Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012 19:06]

I'll support the jokers:
(= 7+2 )
#0,5 0-position
3 twins after 3 legalizing rotations
-------------------------------------------------------------
The stipulation means that White has already played one half of his move, so the only "legal" option is to execute completely some already started complex move: castling (Ke1>g1), ep.capture (-bPc5) and promotion (wPb8=wS)
------------------------------------------------------------
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8257
(18) Posted by seetharaman kalyan [Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012 20:34]; edited by seetharaman kalyan [12-04-10]

@Vlaicu
Oh :( It is so obvious when you point it out !!
 
 
(Read Only)pid=8258
(19) Posted by seetharaman kalyan [Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012 20:38]

@Nikola

Beautiful and Very nice ... Joke Vallado ? :)
 
   
(Read Only)pid=8259
(20) Posted by Alex Levit [Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012 22:01]; edited by Alex Levit [12-04-10]

(= 2+8 )
ser-d#4 SuperCirce, Alsace chess, Joke problem

Alsace chess -- position reached at every point in the solution must be legal according to orthodox rules.

1.Kxf2[+Bg8]! board rotation 2.g8Q 3.Qxa2[+Pa6]! another board rotation 4.Qxg8[+Bd7]#
 
 
(Read Only)pid=8260

Read more...
Page: [Previous] [Next] 1 2

MatPlus.Net Forum Fairies April 1st composition