Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

3:59 CET



Remember me

Forgot your
Click here!
to create your account if you don't already have one.

Rating lists


MatPlus.Net Forum General Plachutting With Myself
You can only view this page!
(1) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Thursday, Mar 14, 2019 15:56]

Plachutting With Myself

(= 5+6 )

Just a silly sketch'o'mine.
1.Sb4? Rf1! 1.Sf2? Ra4! 1.Sf4! 2.Bxf6#
As you see, the Ra1 "interferences with itself" on f4.
Surely this has been done reasonably (possibly
in a moremover)?
(Read Only)pid=17090
(2) Posted by seetharaman kalyan [Friday, Mar 15, 2019 09:45]; edited by seetharaman kalyan [19-03-17]

Well.. you can give a fancy name, but what it shows is White correction !
(Read Only)pid=17091
(3) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Saturday, Mar 16, 2019 20:47]

What you mean is "zweckreine Auswahl" (in Logical School terms). ;-)
This is a *very* generic term, though - it applies to all schemes
1.A? (against a) b! 1.B? (against b) a! 1.C! (against both).
I was more after the interference effect. Going by Milans encyclopedia
where an anticipatory Novotny is described, this would then be sort of
an anticipatory Plachutta. But of course you are right, fancy names
are rather pointless.
(Read Only)pid=17092
(4) Posted by Jakob Leck [Saturday, Mar 16, 2019 23:31]

Hauke, could you explain how the rook is supposed to be part of an interference?
I'm generally struggling with the term "self-interference". Shouldn't interference require at least two pieces that interact?
(Read Only)pid=17093
(5) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Sunday, Mar 17, 2019 10:40]

Think of the famous double split experiment where the electron
interferences with itself...OK, I was only joking :-)

Of course only W interferences S here, and even if
you imagine to lengthen the problem by having two variants
where the rook is further deflected like in standard
Plachutta, it still can't interference with itself
(in orthodox chess - no idea what fairy might do).

Here is the anticipatory Nowotny:
...and I would be interested if an anticipatory Plachutta
(with two rooks, of course) ever has been done.
(Read Only)pid=17095
(6) Posted by Jakob Leck [Sunday, Mar 17, 2019 13:54]

Well, the de Broglie wavelength of a rook ... ;)

No, seriously, after your example I think I understand what you are aiming at, however I wouldn't call this an anticipatory Nowotny. In a Nowotny a white piece sacrifices itself on the intersection of two black lines and when black captures to keep one line active the other one is obstructed because the capturing black piece interferes with the other one. In the problem you give as an example there is never a variation where one of the two black line movers is obstructed by the other one on the thematic square. For this to happen the problem would need to be one move longer and have variations like 1.Nc2 Bb1 2.threat Bxc2 3.threat Rc1 but still 4.Rc8# where the Rc1 can't defend because the bB on c2 (and not the white knight) is blocking the line. I imagine this would be a rather interesting concept, but rather difficult to compose as well.
(Read Only)pid=17096
(7) Posted by Harri Hurme [Sunday, Mar 17, 2019 16:54]

Harri Hurme
honorably mention (Published somewhere in about 1980 or earlier, the judge was Kjell Widlert)

(= 10+3 )


thematical tries 1.Sb3? 1.Sf5? fails 2.-Ta5!/2.-Txb7!
Try 1.Tg3? 1.-Kh2/Te7+/Ta7/Tb7! 2.Sf3+/Kxe7/bxa7/??

I would not call this Plachutta but interference of two lines simultaneously.

(Read Only)pid=17097

No more posts

MatPlus.Net Forum General Plachutting With Myself